Criss Cross Jazz 1405 CD

David Gilmore

From Here To Here

Available: June 2, 2020

This release is a tribute to my father and our grandpa Gerry Teekens Sr, founder of Criss Cross Jazz who passed away October 31, 2019.

Jerry Teekens Jr, Bo Teekens, Amber Teekens.

The notion that nothing spurs the creative process like a deadline fully matches the back story of David Gilmore’s second album for Criss Cross, on which the 54-year-old guitar master navigates eight never-recorded compositions of both recent and older vintage, and a pair of well-wrought covers.

“I had two months to write the music, so I was under the gun,” Gilmore says, before distinguishing From Here To Here with his label debut, Transitions (Criss 1393), for which he convened a crackling quintet to interpret repertoire by a cohort of recently deceased masters (Victor Bailey, Paul Bley, Bobby Hutcherson, Toots Thielemans, Woody Shaw, and iconic living elder Hermeto Pascoal). “I wanted to get a smaller working group in the studio to facilitate touring. My very first record Ritualism was centered around a guitar-piano-bass-drums quartet; I wanted to return to that format (a) because I like it, and (b) because of logistics.”

The end result is an exceptionally vivid, varied date on which the leader showcases characteristically fluent chops, conceptual acumen and focused intention, matched by a rhythm section of New York first-callers.

You can hear David Gilmore talking about this album with Jeffrey Siegel in his Straight No Chaser Podcast 759: A Conversation with David Gilmore

David Gilmore
Barcode 8 712474 140527
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Focus Pocus (David Gilmore)  6:36
2. Cyclic Episode (Sam Rivers)  5:25
3. Metaverse (David Gilmore)  5:05
4. Child Of Time (David Gilmore)  7:21
5. When And Then (David Gilmore)  7:51
6. Innerlude (David Gilmore)  4:27
7. Interplay (Bill Evans)  4:48
8. The Long Game (David Gilmore)  7:21
9. Free Radicals (David Gilmore)  10:08
10. Libation (David Gilmore)  7:01

Total Time: 66:04
Recorded September 12, 2018 in Long Island, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano (recording / mixing / mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens