Criss Cross Jazz 1395 CD

Alex Sipiagin

Moments Captured

Available: May 17, 2017

Moments Captured is trumpeter Alex Sipiagin's third Criss Cross date to feature a three-horn lineup, after Equilibrium (Criss 1257) in 2004 and Destinations Unknown (Criss 1336) in 2011.

While the earlier discs featured David Binney on alto, here it is the fiery Will Vinson displaying his prodigious talents alongside the leader and master tenorist Chris Potter. Rounding out the lineup on this exploratory all-original session are the players from Sipiagin's 2015 album Balance 38-58 (Criss 1378): John Escreet on piano and keyboards, Matt Brewer on bass, and Eric Harland on drums.

The intricate, polyphonic aspect of Sipiagin's writing continues to flower and grow, but it is Escreet's extensive use of the Prophet 6 synthesizer that marks this album's biggest departure. Wringing a seemingly limitless array of tonal colors from the instrument, Escreet gives Sipiagin's music a refreshing and wholly unpredictable edge.

Alex Sipiagin
Barcode 8 712474 139521
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

Alex Sipiagin (Tp / Flh)
Chris Potter (Ts)
Will Vinson (As / Ss)
John Escreet (Prophet 6 Synth /
Fender Rhodes / P)
Matt Brewer (B / El B)
Eric Harland (D)
Alina Engibaryan (Vc) [2,5]

1. Evija Bridge (Alex Sipiagin)  11:09
2. Moments From The Past (Alex Sipiagin / Alina Engibaryan)  10:02
3. Unexpected Reversal (Alex Sipiagin)  10:07
4. Blues For Mike (Alex Sipiagin)  11:00
5. Breeze (Alex Sipiagin)  5:16
6. Bergen Road (Alex Sipiagin)  8:39
7. Dream (Alex Sipiagin)  9:22

Total Time: 65:40
Recorded September 21, 2016 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano (recording / mixing / mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens