Criss Cross Jazz 1390 CD

Matt Brewer


Available: September 24, 2016

On the heels of his critically-acclaimed Criss Cross debut, Mythology (Criss 1373 CD), bassist Matt Brewer presents an inspired quintet recording, convening tenor saxophonist Ben Wendel, pianist Aaron Parks, guitarist Charles Altura, and drummer Tyshawn Sorey -- all top-of-the-pyramid under-40 improvisers and consequential composers in their own right -- to perform a nine-tune program that includes seven Brewer originals, and reimagined versions of Bill Frisell's "Twenty Years" and Charlie Parker's "Cheryl".

Having garnered wide acclaim as a sideman playing the challenging music of such major figures as Gonzalo Rubalcaba, Greg Osby, Steve Coleman and Vijay Iyer, among others, Brewer displays not only his lyric gifts and virtuoso instrumental prowess, but his ability to convey his intentions by allowing his bandmates freedom to express their perspectives within the flow of his ideas.

Matt Brewer
Barcode 8 712474 139026
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Juno (Matt Brewer)  4:41
2. Unspoken (Matt Brewer)  6:53
3. Twenty Years (Bill Frisell)  4:03
4. Lunar (Matt Brewer)  9:08
5. Evil Song (Matt Brewer)  3:00
6. Cheryl (Charlie Parker)  8:06
7. Anthem (Matt Brewer)  6:10
8. Aspiring To Normalcy (Matt Brewer)  8:38
9. Tesuque (Matt Brewer)  5:27

Total Time: 56:25
Recorded February 19, 2016 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Joe Marciano & David Darlington (mixing / mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens