Criss Cross Jazz 1384 CD

Misha Tsiganov

Spring Feelings

Available: February 26, 2016

For his second Criss Cross release, Spring Feelings, pianist Misha Tsiganov presents a program containing five originals and four standards, each bearing Tsiganov's sui generis arranging stamp, tailored to the tonal personalities of his world-class personnel.

Returning from his successful debut, Artistry of the Standard (Criss 1367), are trumpeter Alex Sipiagin, tenor saxophonist Seamus Blake and drummer Donald Edwards, with bassist Hans Glawischnig joining the team.

As on the first recording, the musicians surefootedly, virtuosically navigate the blend of mixed meters, shifting tempos, changing keys and reharmonizations with which Tsiganov dresses up his beautiful melodies in order to insure, as he stated in the liner notes of Artistry of the Standard, "that something is happening always, so the listener doesn't fall asleep."

"With Spring Feelings, Misha Tsiganov maintains his position as one of the most swinging and inventive pianists on today’s jazz scene."  -- EJazzNews

"…superb selection of five outrages originals and four reimagined standards... another marvelous foray on the keys…"   -- AllAboutJazz

"Spring Feelings has plenty of explosive and memorable moments along with consistently inventive playing from Misha…"  -- LAJazzScene

"…new approach to quintet orchestration… really remarkable music…"  -- AllAboutJazz

"...he approaches known tunes with a wide-open mind... opens whole new realms of suggestion."  -- NYCityJazzRecord

"Very high-quality work in arrangements and compositions"  -- TokyoJazzReview

"Tsiganov has that blend of technique, taste and imagination which makes his albums exciting, surprising and rewarding to listen to."  -- LondonJazzNews

"…this is highly intelligent work all around… exploration and treasure, that’s what it’s all about."  -- VeritaVampirus

"Each of the songs on this album echoes with the elegance of a musician who is fast becoming recognised as one of the important pianists of his generation"  -- JazzdaGama

Misha Tsiganov
Barcode 8 712474 138425
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. You And The Night And The Music (Arthur Schwartz / Howard Dietz)  7:59
2. Jed's Place (Misha Tsiganov)  7:10
3. October In Kiev (Misha Tsiganov)  5:54
4. Yes Or No (Wayne Shorter)  7:17
5. Jumping Michael (Misha Tsiganov)  6:50
6. Infant Eyes (Wayne Shorter)  8:42
7. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes (Jerry Brainin / Buddy Bernier)  7:08
8. Blues For Gerry (Misha Tsiganov)  6:34
9. Spring Feelings (Misha Tsiganov)  6:36

Total Time: 64:27
Recorded September 15, 2015 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano (recording) & David Darlington (mixing / mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens