Criss Cross Jazz 1338 CD

Mike Moreno

First In Mind

Available: May 17, 2011

Following up his 2008 Criss Cross debut Third Wish (Criss 1303 CD) acclaimed guitarist Mike Moreno returns with another brilliant quartet outing, First in Mind.

Bringing a flowing, centered tone and ceaseless improvisational ideas to the table, Mike offers a mix of jazz standards, compelling originals, and refreshing reinventions of modern repertoire (Sonny Rollins’s Airegin, Milton Nascimento’s Miracle of the Fishes, Joe Zawinul’s In a Silent Way).

Joined by the esteemed Aaron Parks on piano, Matt Brewer on bass and fellow Houston native Kendrick Scott on drums, Mike cements his reputation as one of the strongest guitarists on the New York and international scenes.

Mike Moreno
Barcode 8 712474 133826
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

Mike Moreno (G)
Aaron Parks (P / Fender Rhodes)
Matt Brewer (B)
Kendrick Scott (D)

1. First In Mind (Mike Moreno)  7:54
2. Soul Dance (Joshua Redman)  8:53
3. Airegin (Sonny Rollins)  5:50
4. By Myself (Josh Mease)  6:09
5. But Beautiful (Jimmy Van Heusen / Johnny Burke)  8:31
6. Milagre Dos Peixes (Miracle Of The Fishes) (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)  7:16
7. A Flor E O Espinho (The Flower And The Thorn) (Nelson Cavaquinho / Guilherme de Brito / Alcides Caminha)  7:35
8. In A Silent Way (Joe Zawinul)  8:34
9. Mantra #5 (Joshua Redman)  5:27

Total Time: 66:16
Recorded January 18, 2011 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano & Max Bolleman (mixing) & The Masters (mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens