Criss Cross Jazz 1308 CD

Luis Perdomo


Available: September 12, 2008

For the first Criss Cross release under his own name, the remarkable Venezuelan-born, New York-based pianist Luis Perdomo has chosen to Interact with an immensely talented pair of longtime friends --- bassist Hans Glawischnig and drummer Eric McPherson --- in a program that includes eight well-crafted originals, two compositions sourced from the Broadway stage and a particularly memorable Bud Powell tune.

A youthful veteran, who's already shared bandstands with Ray Barretto, Dafnis Prieto, David Sanchez, Jerry Gonzalez, Miguel Zenón, and Ravi Coltrane.

With Pathways, he demonstrates his mastery not only on Latin-tinged material but also on straightahead jazz that is, by turns, rhapsodic, gently propulsive and downright boppish.

Luis has previously been heard on Brian Lynch's Criss Cross album Conclave (2005).

Luis Perdomo
Barcode 8 712474 130825
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Speak Low (Kurt Weill / Ogden Nash)  5:51
2. Unexpected (Luis Perdomo)  5:51
3. Shine (Luis Perdomo)  6:08
4. Fulia Chant (Luis Perdomo)  5:45
5. Almost Like Being In Love (Alan Jay Lerner / Frederick Loewe)  6:36
6. Piensa En Mi (Agustín Lara / Maria Teresa Lara)  5:54
7. Chimanta (Gerry Weil / Hector Di Donna)  6:19
8. Baby Steps (Miriam Sullivan)  5:20
9. Sunrise (Luis Perdomo / Hans Glawischnig)  5:00
10. Slap (Luis Perdomo)  5:40
11. Oblivion (Bud Powell)  2:35

Total Time: 61:06
Recorded June 12, 2008 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano & Max Bolleman (mixing) & The Masters (mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens