Criss Cross Jazz 1305 CD

Ralph Bowen


Available: May 8, 2008

For Ralph Bowen's fourth date as a leader for Criss Cross, he returns to the organ combo format that made 2002s Soul Proprietor (Criss 1216) a significant departure and valuable addition to the tenor man's precious catalog.

Returning from that session are trumpeter and Criss Cross regular John Swana, organist Sam Yahel, and guitar man Peter Bernstein, with drummer Dana Hall rounding out the ensemble.

Bowen's muse is an advanced take on the freewheeling implications of John Coltrane's pioneering vernacular. As such, he tackles the framework of the organ goup with a fresh outlook that has more to do with the late 60s work of Larry Young than the grits and gravy approach of Jimmy Smith.

In addition to the four of his own originals, Bowen puts a new spin on Woody Shaw's "Rahsaan's Run", Joe Henderson's "Step Lightly", and U2's "Drowning Man".

Ralph Bowen
Barcode 8 712474 130528
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

Ralph Bowen (Ts)
John Swana (Tp)
Peter Bernstein (G)
Sam Yahel (Hammond B3)
Dana Hall (D)

1. Step Lightly (Joe Henderson)  10:01
2. Baby Girl (Ralph Bowen)  7:48
3. First Hiatus (Ralph Bowen)  8:00
4. Free Time (Ralph Bowen)  9:45
5. Blues Cruz (Ralph Bowen)  7:14
6. Drowning Man (U2)  12:30
7. Rahsaan's Run (Woody Shaw)  8:40

Total Time: 64:04
Recorded October 20, 2007 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Max Ross & Max Bolleman (mixing) & The Masters (mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens