Criss Cross Jazz 1262 CD

George Colligan

Past - Present - Future

Available: February 15, 2005

After presenting a program of gnarly originals for quartet on Ultimatum, his Criss Cross debut, pianist George Colligan offers a beautifully paced trio recital.

Mixing well-wrought originals with iconic standards like Sophistcated Lady and Body and Soul and such less-traveled repertoire as Holiday for Strings and Three Views of a Secret, Colligan again displays the musicality and personal perspective that have marked his oeuvre over the past decade.

In the rhythm section: bassist Vicente Archer, and master drummer Bill Stewart.

George Colligan
Barcode 8 712474 1262 24
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Sophisticated Lady (Duke Ellington / Irving Mills / Mitchell Parish)  9:47
2. Akatumbo (Traditional)  7:19
3. East Of The Sun (Brooks Bowman)  6:19
4. This Nearly Was Mine (Richard Rodgers / Oscar Hammerstein II)  6:41
5. Past - Present - Future (George Colligan)  6:36
6. Three Views Of A Secret (Jaco Pastorius)  5:25
7. Cinema Paradiso (Ennio Morricone)  7:17
8. Holiday For Strings (David Rose)  4:25
9. Body And Soul (Johnny Green / Robert Sour / Edward Heyman / Frank Eyton)  3:09
10. Invitation (Bronislaw Kaper / Paul Francis Webster)  6:49

Total Time: 63:53
Recorded October 31, 2003 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Max Bolleman
Producer: Gerry Teekens & K. Hasselpflug (executive)