Criss Cross Jazz 1218 CD

Steve Davis

Systems Blue

Release Date: February 28, 2002

Within the small circle of modern jazz trombonists, few would argue that Steve Davis stands apart from the crowd, not only as a singular instumental voice but also as a gifted composer.
With Systems Blue, his fifth Criss Cross album to date, Davis explores a distinguished set of jazz standards while being accompanied by his rhythm section partners from One For All - pianist David Hazeltine, bassist Peter Washington, and drummer Joe Farnsworth.
Alto saxophonist Mike DiRubbo joins the group on two titles.

Steve Davis
Barcode 8 712474 121823
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Surrey With The Fringe On Top (Richard Rodgers / Oscar Hammerstein II)  6:33
2. Spirit Waltz (Steve Davis)  10:23
3. Systems Blue (Steve Davis)  7:42
4. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square (Manning Sherwin / Eric Maschwitz)  8:52
5. If I Love Again (Ben Oakland / Jack Murray)  7:32
6. Who Can I Turn To (Anthony Newley / Leslie Bricusse)  5:25
7. Speak Low (Kurt Weill / Ogden Nash)  7:23
8. Namely You (Gene de Paul / Johnny Mercer)  6:24
9. Three And One (Thad Jones)  3:43
10. My Old Flame (Arthur Johnston / Sam Coslow)  4:43

Total Time: 68:47
Recorded May 29, 2001 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Max Bolleman
Producer: Gerry Teekens & K. Hasselpflug (executive)