Criss Cross Jazz 1201 CD

Clarence Penn


Penn's Landing, Clarence Penn's debut recording, received copious critical accolades, including a Year's Ten Best from the "New York Times".

On Play Penn, his follow-up, Penn augments the two-horn (Ron Blake, tenor sax; John Swana, trumpet) - two rhythm (Rodney Whitaker, bass; Penn, drums) with Monk Award winner, Dutch guitarist Jesse Van Ruller.

They match the level of the previous record, traversing with incessant swing a broad range of tempos, textures and emotions.

Clarence Penn
Barcode 8 712474 120123
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Teo (Thelonious Monk)  6:57
2. Grace-Ann (Ron Blake)  5:03
3. You Must Believe In Spring (Michel Legrand / Jacques Demy)  9:40
4. Blues For Paris (Clarence Penn)  6:35
5. The Charm (Bob Hallahan)  6:11
6. Consistent-Seay (Clarence Penn)  5:07
7. Red Alert (John Swana)  8:26
8. Essence (Rodney Whitaker)  8:43
9. Preston's Theme (Clarence Penn)  10:26

Total Time: 67:45
Recorded January 19, 2001 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Max Bolleman
Producer: Gerry Teekens & K. Hasselpflug (executive)