Criss Cross Jazz 1177 CD


Consenting Adults

Recorded in New York City the day after Christmas in 1994 by the collective quintet M.T.B., Consenting Adults is a snapshot of five elite young improvisers -- pianist Brad Mehldau, tenor saxophonist Mark Turner, guitarist Peter Bernstein, bassist Larry Grenadier and drummer Leon Parker -- who will be among the movers and shakers of 21st Century Jazz at the conclusion of their postgraduate education.

Now, these musicians are stars, travelling all over the world and recording as leaders. The New York Times referred to Mehldau as "among the most celebrated pianists of his generation".

All five artists recorded extensively for Criss Cross Jazz, either as leader or as sideman.

On July 17, 2021 (Record Store Day) our partner Elemental Music has released a limited-edition vinyl version of this historical album.

Barcode 8 712474 117727
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Belief (Leon Parker)  6:50
2. Little Melonae I (Jackie McLean)  7:15
3. Phantasm (Peter Bernstein)  9:39
4. Afterglow (Peter Bernstein)  5:49
5. Limbo (Wayne Shorter)  7:28
6. Consenting Adults (Brad Mehldau)  9:07
7. From This Moment On (Cole Porter)  6:09
8. Peace (Horace Silver)  5:59
9. Little Melonae II (Jackie McLean)  6:43

Total Time: 65:03
Recorded December 26, 1994 in New York City, NY, USA
Engineer: Max Bolleman
Producer: Gerry Teekens & K. Hasselpflug (executive)