Criss Cross Jazz 1023 CD

Warne Marsh Quartet / Quintet

Back Home

Here a session by the late great cool tenor saxophonist Warne Marsh with Bebop master Barry Harris on piano, David Williams on bass and drummer Albert Heath.

The idea for this session was to bring together musicians from two different schools (Tristano/Powell) and let them improvise without any restrictions or limitations. Also on this date Tristano School tenorist Jimmy Halperin.

This session, now on CD and originally on LP, has been unavailable for some years and contains also additional material that was never released before.

Warne Marsh Quartet / Quintet
Barcode 8 712474 102327
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Leave Me (Lennie Tristano)  5:16
2. See Me Now, If You Could (Warne Marsh)  5:41
3. Two Not One (Lennie Tristano)  5:08
4. Big Leaps For Lester (Warne Marsh)  4:57
5. Back Home (Lennie Tristano)  8:04
6. Heads Up (Warne Marsh)  5:31
7. Good Bait (Tadd Dameron / Count Basie)  8:11
8. Rhythmically Speaking (Warne Marsh)  4:31
9. Joy Spring (Clifford Brown)  7:26
10. Big Leaps For Lester (alt. take) (Warne Marsh)  4:43
11. Good Bait (alt. take) (Tadd Dameron / Count Basie)  6:34
12. Back Home (alt. take) (Lennie Tristano)  4:48

Total Time: 70:58
Recorded March 31, 1986 in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, USA by Rudy Van Gelder