Criss Cross Jazz 1362 CD

Dee Daniels

State Of The Art

Available: September 20, 2013

State Of The Art is not only singer Dee Daniels' debut leader date for Criss Cross, but the label's first-ever release by a vocalist after three decades and hundreds of recordings by jazz' best and brightest.

It's a worthy addition -- the Seattle-born vocalist, who sang two numbers on Wycliffe Gordon's recent Criss Cross date The Intimate Ellington (Criss 1353 CD), brings her richly textured multi-octave voice, instrumentally-flexible phrasing, and keen interpretative abilities to a program comprising 12 gems from various corners of the American Songbook.

Enhancing the swinging, soulful, old-master flavor and 21st century feel are tenor saxophonist Eric Alexander, who contributes apropos testifying solos and obligatos throughout, and a synchronously grooving rhythm section with pianist Cyrus Chestnut, bassist Paul Beaudry, and drummer Alvester Garnett.

(click image for a larger picture)

Barcode 8 712474 136223
1. Almost Like Being In Love (Alan Jay Lerner / Frederick Loewe)  3:36
2. Cherokee (Ray Noble)  5:11
3. I Wonder Where Our Love Has Gone (Woodrow Buddy Johnson)  5:49
4. He Was Too Good To Me (Richard Rodgers / Lorenz Hart)  5:21
5. I've Got You Under My Skin (Cole Porter)  4:01
6. Night And Day (Cole Porter)  4:30
7. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart (Duke Ellington / Irving Mills / Henry Nemo / John Redmond)  3:19
8. Willow Weep For Me (Ann Ronell)  6:19
9. Why Did I Choose You (Herbert Martin / Michael Leonard)  4:40
10. Summer Wind (Johnny Mercer / Henry Mayer)  4:32
11. Lover Man (Jimmy Davis / Roger Ramirez / Jimmy Sherman)  7:16
12. How High The Moon (Morgan Lewis / Nancy Hamilton)  4:31

Total Time: 59:31
Recorded January 28, 2013 in Brooklyn, NY, USA by Max Ross

Dee Daniels (Vc)
Eric Alexander (Ts)
Cyrus Chestnut (P)
Paul Beaudry (B)
Alvester Garnett (D)

This page was last updated by on 13 May 2019