Criss Cross Jazz 1290 CD

Melvin Rhyne

Front And Center

Available: February 12, 2007

Hammond B-3 master Melvin Rhyne's eighth Criss Cross release as a leader is another sterling chapter in his association with guitarist Peter Bernstein. Their exquisite rapport is assisted by another one of Rhyne's longtime colleagues, drummer Ray Appleton.

The trio skillfully maneuvers through a program of choice items from the American Popular Songbook, classic jazz compositions like 'All Blues' and 'Jordu', as well as Rhyne's originals.

Readily moving from blues to ballads to up-tempo burners, Rhyne and company make this an essential addition to his impressive discography.

(click image for a larger picture)

Barcode 8 712474 129027
1. King David I (Melvin Rhyne)  3:42
2. Yesterday's Child (Charles DeForrest)  5:27
3. All Blues (Miles Davis)  5:45
4. When Lights Are Low (Benny Carter / Spencer Williams)  5:56
5. I Hear A Rhapsody (Jack Baker / George Fragos / Dick Gasparre)  6:17
6. A.P.J. (Melvin Rhyne)  4:38
7. Bamboo (Mani Neumeir / Peter Hollinger)  5:56
8. I Want To Talk About You (Billy Eckstine)  4:35
9. Bones (Peter Bernstein)  4:59
10. Jordu (Duke Jordan)  5:08
11. King David II (Melvin Rhyne)  3:53

Total Time: 56:23
Recorded March 16, 2006 in Brooklyn, NY, USA by Max Bolleman

Melvin Rhyne (Hammond B3 Organ)
Peter Bernstein (G)
Ray Appleton (D)

This page was last updated by on 13 May 2019