Criss Cross Jazz 1230 CD

Conrad Herwig Sextet

Land Of Shadow

Available: February 5, 2003

Save for a major revamp of "Lullaby of the Leaves", trombonist Conrad Herwig's fifth Criss Cross release, Land of Shadow, is a program of originals performed by a hard swinging sextet that features trumpeter Tim Hagans, tenorist Ben Schachter, and Criss Cross regulars pianist David Kikoski, bassist James Genus, and drummer Jeff 'Tain' Watts.
A veteran of the Mingus Big Band and Eddie Palmieri's Latin combo, Herwig continues to turn heads by displaying virtuosity of the highest order.

(click image for a larger picture)

Barcode 8 712474 123025
1. Lullaby Of The Leaves (Bernice Petkere / Joe Young)  10:09
2. The Dream Master (Conrad Herwig)  7:39
3. Land Of Shadow (Conrad Herwig)  11:06
4. Forbidden Pool (Conrad Herwig)  4:41
5. Shadows Of The Past (Conrad Herwig)  7:42
6. Gypsy Without A Song (Duke Ellington)  8:23
7. Homeward Bound (Conrad Herwig)  7:58

Total Time: 57:44
Recorded May 28, 2002 in Brooklyn, NY, USA by Max Bolleman

Conrad Herwig (Tb)
Tim Hagans (Tp)
Ben Schachter (Ts)
David Kikoski (P)
James Genus (B)
Jeff 'Tain' Watts (D)

This page was last updated by on 13 May 2019